Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017

Chiclypoised uses affiliate links. Read our Affiliate Disclosure here .

Sephora Play Review

Sephora Play review for August is here finally! I had ample time to use and abuse the products. Overall, the products in August bag was good. There were a few well-known brands so that was impressive. However, as always some products were a great value and others were just average.

What Used From My Sephora Play Bag

Every product was used except the Anti-Aging Miracle Multiplying Volume Mist by Caviar. It’s just isn’t suitable for my hair type and trying it on weave just wouldn’t feel right. However, it smells clean and fresh and the spray bottle has a fine mist.

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017 | Anti-Aging Miracle Multiplying Volume Mist by Caviar | Hair Spray |Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Anti-Aging Miracle Multiplying Volume Mist by Caviar

 

Vanish Seamless Finish Hourglass Foundation Stick in Shell

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017 | Hourglass Foundation | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Vanish Seamless Finish Hourglass Foundation Stick in Shell

This Vanish Seamless Finish Hourglass Foundation Stick shade was a hot mess for my skin tone, but I’m guessing Hourglass didn’t see the need to include other shades. Oh, well, … I used it as a highlighter nevertheless to put the formula to the test and it was okay. The foundation was really easy to blend also there was no major creasing. I’m sure a shade closer to my skin tone would have been better but I guess I will never know because I won’t be purchasing it. Overall, it seems like a great foundation for people who prefer creamy light coverage foundations.

 

My Burberry Black by Burberry

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017 | My Burberry Black by Burberry | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
My Burberry Black by Burberry

I didn’t particular like this perfume and it was a little surprising. My top perfumes include the one by Dolce Gabbana, Flowerbomb by Viktor, Miss Dior Blooming Bouquet by Dior, J’adore by Dior, and Chloe, so this should have been right up my ally but it wasn’t. At first it smells very masculine and strong however after a few minutes it finishes into a warm, elegant scent which is not overly sweet. It you’re not into heavy floral scented perfumes this might be worth a try. However, I do think it’s a grown and sexy type for winter perfume – the combination of notes for My Burberry Black includes: Top notes: Jasmine. Middle notes: Candied rose and Peach nectar. Base notes: Amber and Patchoui.

 

Beautyblender mico mini

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017 | Beautyblender mico mini | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Beautyblender mico mini

The Beautyblender mico mini was introduced shortly after the release of the original Beautyblender. I have always liked the Beautyblender but I just didn’t care for the mini Beautyblender. I always thought why should I use the mini when I could use the normal Beautyblender to achieve the same results quicker?  Consequently, after finally using the mini I think it’s a pointless purchase. However, it blended the hourglass foundation really well, but I know the foundation would have been blended quicker using a bigger beauty sponge. It’s not necessary a bad product I just do see myself knowingly purchasing another one. As far as I see it this should be an added perk with the purchase of the original Beautyblender. However, Beautyblender try it though with this LOL!. I like the original I just can’t with the mini.

 

HIM Dual-Ended High Impact Mascara & Primer Duo

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017 | HIM Dual-Ended High Impact Mascara & Primer Duo | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
HIM Dual-Ended High Impact Mascara & Primer Duo

I have mixed feelings about this mascara. I like that it’s really black and you can use the primer to achieve voluminous eyelashes. However, I didn’t like extra work I have to put in to achieve that look and I didn’t like the white residue the primer left on my lashes. To remove the residue, I had to coat my eyelashes several times causing the mascara to clump and flake. However, I did realize when the mascara was used without the primer it was fairly good – volume and length wise. Hence, the primer might be pointless but I will continue using it because I think my application probably sucks.

 

Golden Krocus Ageless Saffron Elixir Serum

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review August 2017 | Golden Krocus Ageless Saffron Elixir Serum | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Golden Krocus Ageless Saffron Elixir Serum

I saved the best for last – Golden Krocus Ageless Saffron Elixir Serum. Minus the glitter I like this serum which is sad because the full size 1.01 oz. bottle is $98. It’s a great foundation based for oily skin – It mattifies my oily skin and prepares the skin for foundation. However, I don’t think this would be good for people with dry skin.

 

Recommendations From Sephora Play Box

I would definitely recommend the Golden Krocus Ageless Saffron Elixir Serum, but get a sample just in case you don’t like it. $98 for a serum is an investment, especially for the amount of product in the bottle. So that’s it guys stay tune for September Sephora play.

 

READ ALSO

Sephora Play Reviews Play By Sephora Review July 2017

Is Ipsy Monthly Beauty Subscription Worth the Hype?

Sephora Play | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com

What did you receive in your August Sephora Play box?

XX, Janette

 


 

 

Janette

Janette

A foodie, budget fashionista, cosmetics enthusiast, social media junkie and content creator. Find me here:
Twitter
Instagram
Linkedin
Facebook
YouTube
Janette
%d bloggers like this: