Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Chiclypoised uses affiliate links. Read our Affiliate Disclosure here .
Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | Good Vibes Only Bag| Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com

Hello guys it’s safe to say that I am slacking off and these beauty subscription reviews. I have Ipsy, Sephora Play, Walmart and Birchbox to review! Shame! LOL! If you are still interested in what I thought about my August Ipsy bag, then keep on reading if not check out my review on September Ipsy bag here! By the way I thought September Ipsy bag design was really good – I am considering using it for event. If I do, I will be sure to let you know how that work out. 🙂  So after I read Tigritsa post I was determined to show my goodies. You’ll should definitely check her review out – she has a in-depth review on the products she received with beautiful pictures

Ipsy Sample Options

Ipsy allows you to select a product you really want to sample. It’s relatively new to me. All you need to do is let them know what product you would like to sample from the list by emailing them by 28th of each month. I started using this option (sample of choice) in July and I am happy with the idea. Most times if I receive a product I really want to try I am happy even if the other products suck, so this is a good way to sample something you want to buy but you’re unsure about the quality. Anyways on to August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag review.

 

Ipsy Bag Design

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | good Vibes Only | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Ipsy Good Vibes Only

The bag design represented the theme well. I think it would be a great makeup bag – it’s colorful and bigger enough to hold a decent amount of makeup. Moreover, it looks like it would be easy to clean if you accidentally spilled some foundation on it also the short positive message printed on the bags was a nice touch.

 

Ipsy Bag Theme

So Ipsy bag theme for August was Good Vibes Only. I liked the general idea of the theme. I all about good vibes and being positive so Ipsy bag theme resonated with me.

 

Ipsy Products Review

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay by First Aid Beauty | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay by First Aid Beauty

Claims:

  • Contains red clay – a powerhouse ingredient.
  • Skin will feel squeaky clean, but not stripped.
  • The gel turns into foam removing makeup, dirt, and oil.
  • No artificial colorants, or fragrances, but it smells great due to rosemary oil.

Thoughts:

Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay by First Aid Beauty was my Ipsy sample choice for my August Ipsy bag. I really wanted to try it out because of the rave on Sephora. However, after try it I think it is just okay – I did not think it was ground breaking based on my experience. This cleanser smells like a minty candy which isn’t a bad thing unless you dislike the smell of mint. I did not experience any excessive drying of the skin so that a plus. However, it is not lather up enough. Since, I have extremely oily skin I prefer using cleansers that lather up a lot to give me the deep clean I need especially when I wear full coverage makeup look. Overall, I think it is a good everyday cleanser for those who rarely or barely wear makeup.

 

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | SS035 Medium Face Contour Brush by Crown Brush | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
SS035 Medium Face Contour Brush by Crown Brush

Claims:

  • The synthetic bristles are insanely soft.
  • It holds onto product which makes application way more precise and less messy.
  • Brush can be used for blush, contour, highlight, foundation, setting, and more.

Thoughts:

The bristles are soft. I haven’t use the brush as yet, but from observation it’s the perfect size for contouring, highlighting or adding blush to the apples of the checks.

 

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | Black Magic Mascara Deluxe by Eyeko | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Black Magic Mascara Deluxe by Eyeko

Claims:

  • Cruelty free mascara.
  • This water-resistant mascara.
  • Comes in a squeeze tube packaging means less waste.
  • Conditions your lashes with keratin and shea butter it contains.
  • The curvy brush grabs onto every lash and curl even the straightest lashes.

Thoughts:

This mascara is good. I really like the squeezey tube – that is a great packaging idea. Now I can cut the tube to get every bit of the product out when the product starts to run out. Moreover, the formula is good – it is jet black, it dries quickly and lashes are soft after application. The mascara is also water-resistant and I didn’t experience clumping or flaking. It added length to my eyelashes but not a lot of volume. The brush is really good – it was easy to apply mascara to the root of my eyelashes. This product retails for $26.00 for 0.29 oz. Overall it’s a good mascara for adding length but not volume so that’s pass for me.

 

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | Nourishing Coconut Milk Face Lotion with Hibiscus by Promise Organic | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Nourishing Coconut Milk Face Lotion with Hibiscus by Promise Organic

Claims:

  • Conditions skin.
  • Leaves us looking lustrous.
  • Improves texture and blurs fine lines.
  • Won’t irritate skin – dermatologists tested.

Thoughts:

The face cream smells good, it absorbs in the skin really quickly, it non greasy, leaves the skin soft and ready for applying foundation. It definitely help with my dry patches but as for blurring fine lines … I don’t think so. Products retails for $14.99 for 1.7 oz. – pricey so in the meantime I will sparsely use the 0.5 oz. sample.

 

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | Nail Polish in No. 28 by Sundays | Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com
Nail Polish in No. 28 by Sundays

Claims:

  • Shiny lacquer finish.
  • Toxic free nail polish.
  • Cruelty free nail polish.
  • Curated color selection.

I was really hoping to receive color No. 7 but that was not the case, but color No. 28 is a perfect color for the fall so I will live. The formula dries quickly into a shiny finish. The nail polish didn’t chip for the first three days so that great. If a top coat was added nail polish would have probably lasted longer without chipping. The polish currently retails for $18.00 a bottle – that’s pricy. Overall, the nail polish but I don’t know about the price. Fortunately, I received a full size bottle so I will make do.

So here you have it guys. August bag was a great bag. I got a mascara, full size nail polish and a brush I can’t complain at all about August Ipsy glam bag. Thumbs up to Ipsy.

 

Recommendations From August Ipsy Bag

Nourishing Coconut Milk Face Lotion with Hibiscus by Promise Organic. Here why:

  • It smells great.
  • It smells of coconut.
  • It absorbs into the skin quickly.
  • It really moisturizes the skin.
  • Relieves dry patches.
  • It’s non greasy.

What did you enjoy from your August bag and what are you considering buying? If you haven’t join Ipsy check out this post. I think Ipsy glam bag beauty subscription is a little self-care treat to yourself every month. Moreover, with the changes Ipsy made I think the subscription is worth a try. See what I got in my September Ipsy bag here!

 

Other Ipsy Distributed For August Glam Bag

This is a list of all the products Ipsy distributed for August 2017 monthly beauty subscription. Skin care and makeup products account for majority of the list for the month of August.

Hair Care

Strictly Curls Curl Envy Perfect Curl Cream by Marc Anthony.

Nail Care

Nail Polish in No. 7 by Sundays

Skin Care

Cleansers
Rice Facial Cleanser by JUARA Skincare
Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay by First Aid Beauty

Creams
Crème du Nil Pore-Refining Moisture Veil by LXMI
Green Tea Calming Cream by A. True
The True Cream Aqua Bomb by Belif Cosmetics
Super-Hydrating Eye Cream by Air Repair Skincare
Nourishing Coconut Milk Face Lotion with Hibiscus by Promise Organic

Scubs
Come Clean: Propolis & Minerals Facial Scrub by Hey Honey

Serum
Vitamin C Concentrated Serum by DERMA E
Heart of Gold Elixir by GAVÉE Gold

Masks
Pores Be Pure Skin-Clarifying Mud Mask by Formula
Yoghurt Mask Duo by Vitamasques
Honey & Bamboo Skin Soft Mask Set by Labotica
Sheet Mask Duo – What Happened Last Night? & Pore Gone for Good by Leaders Cosmetics USA
Nature Recipe Sheet Mask Duo by Secret Key
Max Hyaluronic Mask by CLIV

Makeup

Translucent Powder
HD Finishing Translucent Powder by Naked Cosmetics

Mascara
Excessive Lash Arresting Volume Mascara by Make Up Forever
Black Magic Mascara Deluxe by EYEKO
Monsieur Big Mascara by LancĂ´me

Primer
Tinted Primer in Light or Toffee by Clarria Cosmetics

Bronzer
Shimmer Bronzer in Flush by Hikari Cosmetics

Eyeshadow
Eyeshadow in Taj Mahal by Be A Bombshell Cosmetics
theBalm Voyage Vol. 2 Eyeshadow in Willkommen or Kuwakaribisha by theBalm Cosmetics

Eyeliner
Liquid Coal Waterproof Liquid Liner by Seraphine Botanicals
SUGAR Stroke Of Genius Heavy Duty Kohl – 01 Back To Black by Sugar Cosmetics
Precision Tip Liner in Black by Steve Laurant

Highlighter
Highlighting Powder in Champagne Campaign by Catrice Cosmetics

Foundation
Vibrancy Argan Oil Foundation Fluid in Euphoric or Awakened by Josie Maran Cosmetics

Blush
Coconut Blush Duo by Pacifica
Ginger + Gold by Seraphine Botanicals

Corrector
Pro Color Corrector in Pistachio by AURORA

Brow
Mini Universal Brow Pencil in Taupe by Paula Dorf Cosmetics
Eyebrow Defining Gel by Chella

Concealer
Pro Cover Up Concealer in Pale Ecru, Balmy Beige, or Caramel Syrup by Aurora
Peeper Perfect Concealer in Medium by Winky Lux
Silky Fit Concealer BB Power Brightening in Light Beige by YADAH

Perfume

Not a Perfume by Juliette Has a Gun

Tools

SS035 – Medium Face Contour Brush by Crown Brush
T35 Precise Blending Brush by SLMissGlam
103 Angled Contour Brush by Firma Beauty
Romantic Rose Blending Brush by Glamour Dolls

 

READ ALSO

 Is Ipsy Monthly Beauty Subscription Worth the Hype?

Ipsy Reviews July 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Ipsy Reviews June 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Ipsy Reviews May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Ipsy Reviews August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag | Good Vibes Only Ipsters| Chiclypoised | Chiclypoised.com

Did you like what you received in your Ipsy glam bag?

XX, Janette

 

 


 

 

Janette

Janette

A foodie, budget fashionista, cosmetics enthusiast, social media junkie and content creator. Find me here:
Twitter
Instagram
Linkedin
Facebook
YouTube
Janette

Latest posts by Janette (see all)

%d bloggers like this: